TV: Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season

Posted on November 9, 2010

0


Lost: The Complete Sixth and Final Season
Created by Jeffrey Lieber, J.J. Abrams, Damon Lindelof (2010)
jusco’s Rating: ★★★★★
 

I’m a bit behind in the fact that I wait for the DVDs to be released before I enjoy the season in its entirety. So although it’s been half a year since LOST officially ended, I only just received my copy and thus am finally in par with the other LOST fanatics. It’s a bit hard to write a spoiler-free review but I’ll do my best.

For those unfamiliar with the show, it’s about a group of survivors who land on a mysterious island in the middle of the Pacific after an airplane crash. Their lives begin to intertwine through a series of thrilling and at times, deathly events. The unique richness of the show is brought by the numerous flashbacks of the characters, providing depth and enjoyable development (the cast is extensive but is handled extremely well). The theme of ‘destiny’ is implied, but I’ll stop before I give anything away.

Despite my hearing of the last season to be rather controversial and disappointing in comparison with the previous seasons (but then again, which season hasn’t received complaints about being controversial and disappointing?), I was extremely satisfied and thrilled with the turnout. In other words, it was a spectacular season. I may sound a bit biased since I am a dedicated follower, but for the most part, even the top critics agree on this point.

It was only after the season ended that I realised just how strong my attachments to the characters were. It’s perfectly understandable though, considering I’ve literally interacted (in a virtual manner) with them for the past 6 years, plenty of time to become more than acquaintances (I’m just bummed it didn’t quite work out with Kate). 

There were plenty of awe-inspiring moments as well as tearjerkers: finally!.. Tears from Sawyer!, the deaths were absolutely shocking and heartbreaking, the reunions.. never had I cried so much in the entire show before. But one thing that cannot be denied is the genius of how the creators managed to tie down the numerous mysteries into one definite ending. True, complaints about the various unanswered questions arose, as well as how the ending was far from satisfactory. But think about it. Considering how many thought provoking and mind-wrenching mysteries they introduced, they did an extremely good job of wrapping things up into a nice, concise, sound ending.

Anyway, it’s not about the quality of the ending in my opinion, but rather the journey that lasted 6 years. That was one hell of a trip. All respect goes to J.J. Abrams and his team for one of televisions finest and most outstanding shows, gripping from start to finish.

It’s been an honour and pleasure travelling with you for the past 6 years. I’ll miss you a lot, for all the memories, tears, laughs. 

RIP LOST 2004-2010

Posted in: 5-stars, tv